Kompolize – International Composition Competition by psophos in cooperation with the Lietzeorchester Berlin

Kompolize offers contemporary composers the opportunity to present their works to a broad audience and to gain experience working with a large symphony orchestra. It also enables musicians of the Lietzeorchester to take part in shaping the contemporary music scene and to contribute to Berlin’s cultural diversity.

Since its first call for scores in 2012, psophos has received submissions from Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, China, Cyprus, France, Germany, Greece, Great Britain, Iran, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, Russia, Sweden, Switzerland, South Korea, Taiwan, Turkey, Ukraine, and the USA.

Relatively few women composers have taken part in Kompolize. Kübra Atulun was the first (and thus far the only) woman to win the competition: her work Sanrı received its world premiere in 2018. psophos and the Lietzeorchester would be delighted to celebrate further premieres by women, and would particularly like to encourage women composers to submit their work to the competition.

Kompolize is open to all living composers. Submissions will be anonymized by psophos and judged by a jury of members of the Lietzeorchester.

Due to the current situation, Kompolize will resume in 2022.

The Lietzeorchester

The Lietzeorchester was founded by Hanno Bachus in 1991 with the support of Prof. Peter Schwarz. For almost 30 years, music students and dedicated amateur and professional musicians alike have come together in this ensemble. Over the years, the self-managed orchestra has accumulated a total of 90 musicians and performs concerts at the conclusion of the university semester. The orchestra is a non-profit organization. The repertoire spans from classical to modern, especially 20th century pieces. The entrance to the concerts of the Lietzeorchester is free.

Kompolize

Der Wettbewerb

Der internationale Kompositionswettbewerb Kompolize von psophos und dem Lietzeorchester e.V. Berlin gibt zeitgenössischen Komponistinnen und Komponisten die Gelegenheit, ihre Werke einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit vorzustellen und Erfahrungen mit einem großen symphonischen Klangkörper zu sammeln. Dabei nehmen die Musikerinnen und Musiker des Lietzeorchesters aktiv an der Entwicklung des gegenwärtigen Musiklebens teil und tragen zur kulturellen Vielfalt Berlins bei.

Seit der ersten Ausschreibung 2012 erreichten psophos Werke von Komponistinnen und Komponisten aus Belgien, Bosnien und Herzegowina, Brasilien, China, Deutschland, Frankreich, Griechenland, Großbritannien, dem Iran, Italien, Japan, den Niederlanden, Österreich, Russland, Schweden, der Schweiz, Südkorea, Taiwan, der Türkei, der Ukraine, den USA und Zypern.

Teilnahmeberechtigt sind alle lebenden Komponistinnen und Komponisten. Die eingereichten Partituren werden von psophos anonymisiert und einer Jury vorgelegt, die sich aus aktiven Mitgliedern des Lietzeorchesters zusammensetzt. Einsendeschluss für den 17. Kompolize Sommer 2020 war der 3. November 2019.

An Kompolize haben verhältnismäßig wenige Komponistinnen teilgenommen. Kübra Aytulun war die erste und bislang einzige Kompolize-Preisträgerin. Ihr Werk Sanrı wurde im Sommer 2018 uraufgeführt. psophos und das Lietzeorchester würden sich sehr über weitere Preisträgerinnen freuen und rufen insbesondere Komponistinnen auf, ihre Werke einzureichen.

 

Das Lietzeorchester

1991 gründete Hanno Bachus mit Unterstützung von Prof. Peter Schwarz das Lietzeorchester. Seit über 25 Jahren treffen sich im „Lietze” ambitionierte Liebhaber, Musikstudenten und Profis zum gemeinsamen Musizieren. Aktuell besteht das Orchester aus gut 90 Musikern, jeweils zu Semesterende veranstaltet es mehrere Konzerte in Berlin. Das Repertoire des Orchesters reicht von der Klassik bis zur Moderne, wobei Werke des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts verstärkt berücksichtigt werden. Das Orchester ist ein selbsttragender Verein. Der Eintritt zu den Konzerten des Lietzeorchesters e.V. ist frei.